A Murderous Malady by Christine Trent Blog Tour :)

A Murderous Malady by Christine Trent

Publication Date: May 7, 2019
Crooked Lane Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages
Genre: Historical Mystery



For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery. Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying of a far more intentional cause—murder. The London summer of 1854 is drawing to a close when a deadly outbreak of cholera grips the city. Florence Nightingale is back on the scene marshaling her nurses to help treat countless suffering patients at Middlesex Hospital as the disease tears through the Soho slums. But beyond the dangers of the disease, something even more evil is seeping through the ailing streets of London. It begins with an attack on the carriage of Florence’s friend, Elizabeth Herbert, wife to Secretary at War Sidney Herbert. Florence survives, but her coachman does not. Within hours, Sidney’s valet stumbles into the hospital, mutters a few cryptic words about the attack, and promptly dies from cholera. Frantic that an assassin is stalking his wife, Sidney enlists Florence’s help, who accepts but has little to go on save for the valet’s last words and a curious set of dice in his jacket pocket. Soon, the suspects are piling up faster than cholera victims, as there seems to be no end to the number of people who bear a grudge against the Herbert household. Now, Florence is in a race against time—not only to save the victims of a lethal disease, but to foil a murderer with a disturbingly sinister goal—in A Murderous Malady.

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound


***My Personal Review***

*I am a little behind on finishing the book, so look for my review within a day or two :)*

About the Author

Christine Trent is the author of the Florence Nightingale Mysteries, the Lady of Ashes historical mystery series, about a Victorian-era undertaker, and three other historical novels. Christine’s novels have been translated into Turkish, Polish, and Czech. She writes from her two-story home library, where she lives with her husband, four precocious cats, a large doll collection, entirely too many fountain pens, and over 4,000 catalogued books. Learn more about Christine at www.christinetrent.com. You can also follow her on Facebook and Goodreads.



***AUTHOR INTERVIEW***
  1. What is the first book that made you cry?
A book that I found in a “$1 Any Book” bin in a used book store, Rosalind Laker’s To Dance with Kings. I was drawn to its romantic, historical cover featuring the palace of Versailles on it. It’s a sweeping, fictional story of life at Versailles, and when one of the heroines in the book cries out for her dead husband, well, I was just engulfed in shared grief with her!
  1. Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?
Actually, no. When my first editor bought my very first book—a historical set in England and France—she said she didn’t want me to use a pseudonym. I guess with a name like “Trent” it doesn’t get much more British than that! I’ve had some readers/reviewers believe me to be British, which I consider to be a great compliment.
  1. What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?
Hiring a virtual assistant! My assistant, Ruth, at Maplewood Virtual Assistance, did so much to make me look professional. She helped me with revamping my web site, runs ads for me on Facebook, created my newsletter template and sends it out for me each month, has created plenty of contests and fun events for my readers, and has helped me think through a lot of marketing materials. May I give her a plug for any authors or aspiring authors out there? 

  1. What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?
When I was around 8 or 9 years old, a teacher I had gave us an assignment to write a story. I’m sure she expected the class to write stories about our pets or our best friends or our favorite toys. I wrote a piece about running away with my mother on a train. I just thought I was being clever, but it freaked my teacher out enough that she called my mother in for a conference to assure herself that I was not in any weird sort of danger.
  1. How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?
Three. One about a famous British aristocratic family, one that is a trilogy on the American Revolution, and then a little lark I embarked upon in middle-grade historical fiction. I hope to sell all of them, but I would be thrilled to sell any of them.

Me: Well I don't know about everyone else, but I would LOVE to read those!!!!
  1. Does your family support your career as a writer?

Immensely. In fact, my plotting team, my beta readers, and my critique teams are all comprised of my husband, my brother, and various in-laws. Before she died, my mother reviewed my books for spelling and grammar errors. My books really are family affairs.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, May 6 Interview at Let Them Read Books Review & Giveaway at Passages to the Past Tuesday, May 7 Review at Peppermint Ph.D. Wednesday, May 8 Review at Proverbial Reads Review at Impressions In Ink Excerpt & Giveaway at Old Timey Books Thursday, May 9 Guest Post at Short Book and Scribes Friday, May 10 Review at Broken Teepee Feature at The Book Junkie Reads Review & Excerpt at Clarissa Reads it All Saturday, May 11 Review at Donna's Book Blog Sunday, May 12 Review at A Bookish Affair Monday, May 13 Review at A Chick Who Reads Feature & Giveaway at Queen of Random Interview at Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots Tuesday, May 14 Excerpt & Giveaway at To Read, Or Not to Read Wednesday, May 15 Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit Excerpt & Giveaway at Kimber Li's Blog Thursday, May 16 Feature at CelticLady's Reviews Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective Friday, May 17 Review at The Lit Bitch Saturday, May 18 Review at Just One More Chapter Sunday, May 19 Review, Q&A, and Giveaway at Maiden of the Pages Monday, May 20 Giveaway at Coffee and Ink Review & Excerpt at Jathan & Heather

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Queens of Wings and Storms Anthology Book Tour and Giveaway :)

Music For a Merman by Alice Renaud Book Tour and Giveaway :)

Tigers Love Bubble Baths & Obsession Perfume by Mary K Savarese Book Tour and Giveaway :)